Naked

.
.
.

Woman,
I stand naked
on the third
stone from
the sun.
Come to
me and help
me see, my love won’t jump
the gun. The angels trumpeting
and I keep forgetting to pick
the roses for your long silky
hair. We must beware. We
must take care to never
ride alone in boats that
are made for two.
It’s up to you. You
must renew the splendor
lying deep within my eyes.
Woman, I stand naked on the
third stone from the sun. Come
to me and help me see my love
won’t jump the gun.

July 1974

6 Comments

Filed under naked

6 responses to “Naked

  1. hey there,

    thank you for linking to me! i had fun cruzing your blog and sampling here and there!

    this is a wonderful chestnut of a concrete poem

    with her head tilted it reminds me of that painting of picasso’s of his mistress sleeping

    I’m so pleased to see you here. I think your blog is exciting. I sent a link from your blog to my daughter, it was your pirate poem video with a child. Was that your son? She will play it for her little boy who loves piratey things.

    The head in this poem should not be sliced like that. I need to fix it. I’m so glad you liked it!

  2. maelinat

    Oh yes “read the same mind” I see… :>)
    Wonderful calligram! I love it.
    Thank you Wayne.
    Mae

    I’m so glad, Mae.

  3. maelinat

    PS: 1974 I was just learning my language.
    That woman’s alive. Incredible sight.

    I’m glad that this older poem is well received.
    I set it to music when I wrote it. It was one of my courtin’ songs.
    VERY successful, I might add. 😉

  4. That is one very voluptuous and beautiful woman. It’s been a pleasure discovering your writing.

    Good to meet you, Brad. Thank you very much. Please come back whenever you like. I’m looking forward to reading your work.

  5. poeticgrin

    As maelinat stated above, “that woman’s alive” and might I add still kicking! I love seeing your older work! I feel like you are sharing photographs from your past. Thank you for letting us in!

  6. mamamaemae

    I’m glad you posted this one. Not only is it one of my favorite of all your works, it is the first poem I ever remember being ‘zinged’ with… by any author. I also remember you singing/playing it for me once after a little struggle to remember the tune. I felt so, so special.

    Now, as a full fledged adult and mother- lover my ownself I delight in the humble line: “and I keep forgetting to pick the roses for your long silky
    hair. ” It’s those gentle, worshipful moments that are my comfort and joy these days.

    Thanks, Sally. I’m so pleased.

Leave a Reply

