I Talk with Trees

I talk with trees
because I have to.
I certainly love people
but I have to talk with trees.
People tend to know too little
and believe too much.
What trees know and can share with me
is better than what most people believe and will share.
From their invisible parts below the ground
to their visible parts extending way above the ground
trees never deny that they are fractals in any way.
It is a treasure to know what you are.

I am a fractal also.

And the trees have helped me to understand this.
It’s good to know where you came from and how you grew.
It’s good to know that when you stop, when it occurs to you that you are dying.
You can increase the value of what you leave behind.
When a tree dies other fractals live in it.
This wouldn’t happen so much if we always buried them.
Year after year, green after green, trees know what to do.
They teach me how to live, how to produce, how to maintain,
where to find joy, and how to be alive.
They teach me how to share.
They teach me flexibility in the wind.
They teach me how to grow right up against other trees, other people that are different from me.
They teach me how to appreciate people that are different from me.
And they teach me how to be me.

I use words to speak to you.
But words are a mere shadow of thoughts compared to the language of trees.
Trees never lie to me.
Trees never hide from me.
Trees never try to deceive me.
Trees do not believe things that are not true.
This makes them rather superior on numerous levels.
We knock them around and knock them down and they come back.
I’ve been knocked around and knocked down.
The trees teach me how to stand up again and do better.

It’s not that grass and flowers have less to share.
Nor that they know less or are less.
But trees are less ephemeral
and easier for me to relate to visually.

I encourage everyone to spend some time in the trees.
Watch them closely.
Listen to them closely.
It is amazing what they can contribute to your life.

Leave a comment

Filed under I Talk with Trees

Leave a Reply

